The Falcon's Nest

  • Bands We Like

  • Categories

  • RSS The Day in Rock

  • RSS Music News

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • RSS New Music Reviews

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • RSS Under the Radar

  • RSS Clash Music News

    • Secret Garden Party Goers Offered Free Drug-Testing Service July 24, 2016
      A first for British festivals...Secret Garden Party offered festival goers a free drugs-testing service this weekend. The policy was overseen by The Loop, and it is believed to be the first time a major UK festival has embarked on something of this nature. The Loop have previously tested discarded drugs, or those claimed by police, but this is the first time […]
    • Premiere: The Fedz - 'What's My Name' July 23, 2016
      Funk with a 21st century attitude...The Fedz is a new trans-Atlantic collective, matching the United States with the UK, legendary figures with brand new talent. The project hinges on legendary producer Dennis Bovvel, who is joined by three incredible vocalists. The stellar cast includes a host of guest musicians, who have played on some of the biggest relea […]
    • Clams Casino To Play Special Russian Boiler Room Event July 22, 2016
      From a secret location in Moscow...Clams Casino is set to play a special Boiler Room event in Russia. The event will be beamed live from a secret, as-yet-undisclosed location in Moscow, with 1000 fans set to be in attendance. Clams Casino is set to play a full live set, fresh from the artistic success of his '32 Levels' solo album. Also on the bill […]
    • Dizzee Rascal On Brexit July 22, 2016
      "I think that f***ing name is annoying..."Dizzee Rascal has aired his views on the Brexit vote. The grime pioneer turned pop phenomenon is set to appear on Beats 1 this weekend, a special guest of Pharrell on his OTHERtone show. Pharrell couldn't resist probing Dizzee on the Brexit vote, with the country deciding to detonate its EU membership […]
    • Rushmore: Reflections On Tokyo July 22, 2016
      The city that birthed new album 'Ours After'...Some cities leave their stamp on a person. Tokyo is one such place. From a Western viewpoint, it can seem hopelessly, but seductively, alien, a continual source of inspiration that exists entirely outside the norm. Rushmore very quickly fell under its spell. New album 'Ours After' owes a psyc […]
    • Live Report: Latitude 2016 July 22, 2016
      Pink sheep, lake swims and glorious sunshine...Latitude is the perfect British festival. Friendly, family-orientated and proudly laid-back, it provides a much-needed escape from the troubled ‘real world we’re living in. Celebrating its eleventh birthday, the Suffolk-based excursion attracts crowds in the tens of thousands to the beautiful, picturesque surrou […]
    • Live Report: Sunfall Festival 2016 July 22, 2016
      Inaugural London event impresses...We’ll start by saying what we would normally close with: as the latest in a far too long line of London festivals, Sunfall had a bit of a job on its hands in creating something worth going to. That being said, we think we speak on behalf of most of the attendees when we say we’ll be back next year. Our ‘here and now’ attitu […]
    • Five Things We Learned At Lovebox 2016 July 22, 2016
      Looking back on the Victoria Park weekender...So that was Lovebox. The Victoria Park two-dayer brought sun and good vibes to East London, alongside the usual impeccable array of music. From outright legends - George Clinton, David Rodigan - through to the latest Web 2.0 hype story, there was truly something for everyone at this year's Lovebox. Here […]
    • Gallery: GoldLink Breezes Into Lovebox July 22, 2016
      Check out these hilarious backstage snaps...GoldLink breezed into Lovebox last weekend, performing one of the weekend's standout sets. Unbeknownst to fans, however, the American talent had sneaked a disposable camera backstage. Capturing his antics, GoldLink smuggled the photos back out and sent them to the Clash office. Dutifully scanned, you can check […]
    • Premiere: Chalk - 'Together' July 22, 2016
      Rising duo tease their new EP...Josh Fowley and Jonny Breakwell have known each other for some time - first as rivals, then as collaborators. Frequent figures on London's acoustic scene, the pair decided to trade in their guitars and focus on electronic beats. Indie-dance project Chalk was born. New EP 'Together' is incoming, and it's a m […]
  • RSS Eddie Trunk

  • RSS Rolling Stone

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • RSS Chart Attack

Best Albums of 2012: Dylan Mondegreen – Dylan Mondegreen

Posted by falconi5 on September 25, 2012

Dylan Mondegreen – Dylan Mondegreen (Rating 4.5 out of 5)

There definitely is something cooking in Sweden other than meatballs, and combined with the fantastic Jens Lekman album I Know What Love Isn’t, and now Dylan Mondegreen’sself titled new album, the slamming Swedes may have just locked two spots in the top 10 albums for 2012.

Dyaln Mondegreen has not been given a perfect 5 rating only because we have not spent enough time on this organically beautiful album, and we are firmly convinced that after uncovering some of the yet to be explored layers that a butterfly might actually fly out of the speakers. Dylan Mondegreen is the nom de plume of singer songwriter Borge Sildnes, and if you have been paying attention, he has delivered mostly perfect pop tunes since his 2007 release While I Walk You Home that features one of the great under the radar songs “Wishing Well”, very much worth checking out.

This time out Dylan has created a very adult record with themes of fatherhood, old age, and love presented against a beautiful backdrop of multi-layered strings, perfectly balanced orchestration, and honest vocal delivery, all courtesy of producer Ian Catt, most recently with St. Etienne. On “Come Tomorrow” , the best song on the record, female vocalist Maria Due pops up to share vocal duties with their voices blending perfectly with the almost other worldly string arrangements. “Yesterday When I was Young” is a poignant song coming from the perspective of a man who clearly is in the right spot in his life and is aging very gracefully. Weighing in at a perfectly paced nine songs, the album does not overstay its welcome, and in fact you wish it would hang around a bit for another glass of wine or two.

Don’t let all the beauty and grace stop you from enjoying this album if you are afraid of that sort of thing. There is also a distinct and cool Indie Pop aura wafting throughout his album in a Prefab Sprout sort of way.  Ultimately all’s I can say about this album is that after listening to it front to back a couple of times is that it makes me supremely happy, and that is a very good thing.

Key Tracks

  • Castaway
  • Come Tomorrow
  • Tears All Over Town

One Response to “Best Albums of 2012: Dylan Mondegreen – Dylan Mondegreen”

  1. […] The Falcon’s Nest […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 230 other followers

%d bloggers like this: